Billups, Carter headline 2024 Hall of Fame class

r45643 600x400 3 2

Chauncey Billups and Vince Carter were among those chosen as the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame’s Class of 2024, the Hall announced Saturday at the Final Four in Phoenix.

Billups helped the Detroit Pistons win the 2004 NBA championship and was named NBA Finals MVP. He averaged 15.2 points and 5.4 assists over 1,043 career games, mostly with the Pistons (2002-08) and Denver Nuggets. His 89.4 career free-throw percentage ranks sixth in NBA/ABA history.

Carter, the only person to play in the NBA during four different decades, made his greatest impact with the Toronto Raptors, where he became the franchise’s first star player a few years into its existence. He averaged 16.7 points per game for his career and owns the single-season franchise scoring records for both the Raptors and Nets. He won the 2000 Slam Dunk Contest in iconic fashion and made the ninth-most 3-pointers (2,290) in league history.

Also chosen for enshrinement were Michael Cooper, Seimone Augustus, Jerry West, Herb Simon, Doug Collins, Bo Ryan, Walter Davis, Charles Smith, Dick Barnett, Harley Redin and Michele Timms.

The enshrinement ceremony will take place in Springfield, Massachusetts, on Aug. 16-17.

Cooper spent his entire 12-year NBA career (1978-90) with the Los Angeles Lakers, winning five championships. He was named to eight NBA All-Defensive Teams and took home Defensive Player of the Year honors in 1987. Following his playing career, Cooper entered the coaching ranks and earned WNBA Coach of the Year accolades in 2000 with the Los Angeles Sparks before winning back-to-back WNBA titles in 2001-02.

Augustus, the first overall pick in the 2006 WNBA Draft by Minnesota, was a four-time champion and eight-time All-Star during her 15-year WNBA career (2006-20). She spent 14 of her 15 seasons with the Lynx, averaged 15.4 points per game and was named the 2006 Rookie of the Year and 2011 Finals MVP. At LSU, Augustus led the Tigers to three straight Final Four appearances and won the Naismith College Player of the Year and Wooden Awards in back-to-back campaigns (2005-06).

West enters the Hall for a record third time, this time as a contributor. He was previously enshrined as a player and as a member of the 1960 U.S. Olympic Team, West then went on to establish himself off the court as one of the most successful executives in the sport’s history. West was the architect of a pair of Lakers’ dynasties during the 1980s and 2000s, drafting key players like Magic Johnson and James Worthy, acquiring Kobe Bryant, signing free agent Shaquille O’Neal, and hiring head coach Phil Jackson.

West totaled eight NBA championships in Los Angeles (1980, ’82, ’85, ’87-88, 2000-02) and was named Executive of the Year twice (1995, 2004). Following his time in the Lakers’ front office, West served as general manager of the Memphis Grizzlies from 2002-07 before earning two additional NBA championships as an executive with the Golden State Warriors (2015, ’17).

Davis, the all-time leading scorer in Phoenix Suns’ history was a six-time All-Star during his 15-year NBA career with the Suns (1977-88), Nuggets (1988-92) and Portland Trail Blazers (1991). Davis with the fifth pick in the 1977 draft out of North Carolina, and won a gold medal in the 1976 Summer Olympics.

Ryan was a remarkable 747-233 in 32 seasons as a collegiate head coach with the University of Wisconsin-Platteville (1984-89), University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (1999-2001) and University of Wisconsin (2001-15). He spent 14-plus seasons in Madison, winning Big Ten Coach of the Year four times as coach of the Badgers.

Wisconsin won four Big Ten regular-season titles, three Big Ten tournament championships, and made back-to-back Final Four appearances (2014-15) under Ryan’s leadership. He was inducted into the College Basketball Hall of Fame in 2017.

Smith is Louisiana’s all-time winningest high school coach, with nine state championships at Peabody Magnet High Schoo to his credit. ESPN’s National Coach of the Year in 2010, Smith was inducted into the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame in 2019 and the National High School Athletic Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2021. In addition, he served as head coach at the McDonald’s All-American game in 2020.

Barnett, voted in by the men’s veteran committee, led Tennessee A&I University to three straight NAIA national championships (1957-59), the first historically black school to claim a men’s basketball title. He played 14 season in the NBA wtih the Syracuse Nationals (1959-61), Lakers (1962-65) and New York Knicks (1965-73), winning a pair of titles in the Big Apple (1970, ’73).

Collins career in basketball ranged from player to coach to broadcaster. He was a four-time NBA All-Star with the Philadelphia 76ers before transitioning into coaching with the Chicago Bulls (1986-89), Pistons (1995-98), Washington Wizards (2001-03) and 76ers (2010-13). Collins also served as an analyst for various NBA-related broadcasts for CBS, NBC, TNT, TBS, and ABC/ESPN, along with working for NBC at the 2008 and 2012 Summer Olympics.

Simon, the longest-tenured governor in the history of the NBA, purchased the Indiana Pacers in 1983. Under Simon’s stewardship, the Pacers won numerous Central Division titles and made the franchise’s first NBA Finals in 2000.

Timms, a trailblazer in Australian women’s basketball, was one of the best point guards in the world, representing the Australian national team throughout the 1980s and 1990s. She won a pair of Olympic medals, bronze in 1996 and silver in 2000, and was the first Australian, male or female, to play professional basketball internationally beginning her career in Germany. She then spent five seasons with the Phoenix Mercury, guiding the team to a berth in the 1998 WNBA Finals and earning an All-Star selection in 1999. The Sport Australia Hall of Fame inducted her in 2003, the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in 2008, and the FIBA Hall of Fame in 2016.

Redin went 431-66 in 18 seasons leading Wayland Baptist’s women’s basketball program and captured six AAU National Championships. He coached the Flying Queens to two undefeated women’s seasons (1956, ’57), 17 top-five finishes, and went 110-2 during his first four campaigns at Wayland Baptist. The late Redin also coached the Women’s U.S. National Team in 1959, the 1971 Pan-American Games, and the 1963 World Tournament in Peru. He was inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in 1999, and honored with the Naismith Award for Outstanding Contribution to the game of women’s basketball in 2000.

Information from Field Level Media was used in this report.

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top